Armstrong, Louis - Paramount Recordings 1923-1925

by Modern Legend, LLC.

The 20th century produced no shortage of legendary instrumentalists and vocalists but Louis Armstrong is the only figure who completely changed the way people played music on their instruments and he completely changed the way people sang. Perfecting the concept of the improvised solo, popularizing the use of scat singing, defining the concept of swing - those are just some of the ways "Satchmo" changed jazz, and American popular music - during his lifetime. The Paramount Recordings is a historic 14-track collection of studio sessions the consummate entertainer tracked between 1923 and 1925, recorded at the time for the Paramount label and featuring King Oliver's Jazz Band, Ma Rainey, Fletcher Henderson & His Orchestra, Trixie Smith, Wesley Wilson and Coot Grant. Audio remastered for vinyl and pressed at Pallas Group in Germany. Includes insert with liner notes.

- Disc 1 -
1 Mabel's Dream
2 The Southern Stomps
3 Riverside Blues
4 See See Rider
5 Jelly Bean Blues
6 Countin' the Blues
7 Mandy, Make Up Your Mind
- Disc 2 -
1 Railroad Blues
2 The World's Jazz Crazy (And So Am I)
3 Mining Camp Blues
4 You Dirty Mistreater
5 Come on Coot and Do That Thing
6 Have Your Chill, I'll Be Here When Your Fever Rises
7 Find Me at the Greasy Spoon (If You Miss Me Here)