Tops - Picture You Staring

by Modern Legend, LLC.


Tops are a four-piece band from Montreal, equal parts girls and guys, delivering a raw punk take on AM studio pop. Their new record, Picture You Staring, is a lush array of timelessly crafted songs. Singer Jane Penny gives a new voice to the silent girl at the edge of the circle, disillusioned but honest and unpretentious, a tone complemented by David Carriere's seamless guitar playing and the measured drumming of Riley Fleck. Tops' subtle arrangements are delivered with a cool restraint that blend with the individuality and self-assured desire of their female lead. Picture You Staring gathers strength through intimacy. Self-written, recorded and produced at Arbutus Records' studio in Montreal over the course of a year, this album contains 12 impeccable examples of pop craftsmanship that will reward repeat listeners.

  • 1 Way to Be Loved
  • 2 Blind Faze
  • 3 Circle the Dark
  • 4 Outside
  • 5 All the People Sleep
  • 6 Sleeptalker
  • 7 Superstition Future
  • 8 2 Shy
  • 9 Change of Heart
  • 10 Easier Said
  • 11 Driverless Passenger
  • 12 Destination